Emmerdale The Award Winning Soap!!

Emmerdale has won four awards including ‘Best Shock Twist’, Best Exit, Best Bad Girl and Best Partnership in the 2019 Inside Soap Awards.

Emmerdale News: Emmerdale wins four Inside Soap Awards including Best Shock Twist

Emmerdale has added four more awards to its trophy cabinet as it has recognised once again at this year’s Inside Soap Awards in London. The ITV soap won Best Shock Twist for Flashbacks to the Big Night Out, Best Exit for Jane Cox and Lisa Dingle’s emotional departure, Best Bad Girl for Louisa Clein as Maya Stepney, and Best Partnership for Lucy Pargeter and Dominic Brunt, who play Chas Dingle and Paddy Kirk.

The Best Shock Twist was presented for the series of flashbacks that revealed life-changing consequences for several characters during Emmerdale’s Big Night Out which included the brutal rape of Victoria Barton (Isobel Hodgins).

The dramatic storyline beat off tough competition from Corrie for Gary Windass being behind the factory collapse, Hollyoaks’ granny Breda McQueen being revealed as a serial killer, and Linda Carter double-crossing Stuart Highway after he set up husband Mick for his attempted murder in EastEnders.

Actress Amy Walsh, who plays Tracy Metcalfe was heavily involved along with Fiona Wade (Priya Sharma) and Roxy Shahidi (Leyla Harding). 

The trio discovered that twisted teacher Maya Stepney, actress Louisa Clein, had groomed Jacob Gallagher and was in a secret relationship with the teenager.

The trio took her out to the woods with viewers being left convinced that Leyla had killed her.

But during a series of flashbacks fans discovered that Maya was alive and well and still very much involved with Jacob.

Speaking to the Daily Star about filming the scenes and winning the award, Amy said her favourite moment was getting to slap evil Maya across the face.

She said: “I am honestly so thrilled that the ‘Big Night Out’ has won this award. We had such an amazing time filming these episodes. Myself, Fiona, Roxy and Louisa are all such great friends that it was like having one big sleepover of night shoots with your besties.

“Except, there wasn’t really much sleeping as we were working so hard! My favourite moment was definitely slapping Maya across the face and shoving her in the car, even though I absolutely adore Louisa.

“I’ve never spent my birthday in the middle of the woods all through the night before. I have to say our directors on this shoot Mike Lacey and Paul Copeland are the big winners here. Their hard work and dedication is what made it, along with all the amazing cast and crew, obviously. I’d like to thank the readers of Inside Soap for voting for us, it really means the world.”

The storyline also contributed to Louisa Clein winning Best Bad Girl for her portrayal of the manipulative abuser. Louisa was nominated alongside co-star Clair King (Kim Tate) as well as Tanya Franks (Rainie Branning, EastEnders) and Jennifer Metcalfe (Mercedes McQueen, Hollyoaks).

Emmerdale stalwart Jane Cox won Best Exit for the emotionally devastating departure of matriarch Lisa Dingle. Lisa returned to Emmerdale and stayed just long enough to remarry Zak before dying on her wedding night.

The fourth award was richly deserved by Lucy Pargeter and Dominic Brunt for their exceptional work as Best Partnership. The couple saw off very fierce opposition from Kellie Bright and Danny Dyer (Linda and Mick Carter, EastEnders), Kara-Leah Fernandes and Roger Griffiths (Bailey and Mitch Baker, EastEnders) and their co-stars Emma Atkins and Michelle Hardwick (Charity Dingle and Vanessa Woodfield, Emmerdale).

Chas and Paddy’s tragic baby Grace storyline broke viewers’ hearts when they discovered their unborn child had serious growth defects and wouldn’t last more than minutes once born. The scenes around the birth, the precious minutes of Grace’s life and both Chas and Paddy’s grief was a masterclass in acting and its fantastic to see them both finally recognised.

Other winners on the night included Hollyoaks star Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby) for Best Actress, Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson, Hollyoaks) for Best Actor and Hollyoaks for Best Soap.

Best Young Actor went to Kara-Leah Fernandes (Bailey Baker, EastEnders) while Best Newcomer was awarded to Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer, Coronation Street).

Max Bowden (Ben Mitchell, EastEnders) took home Best Bad Boy, with Funniest Male and Female both going to Eastenders Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders) and Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor, EastEnders).

Carla’s mental health episode (Coronation Street) won Best Show Stopper while Corrie co-star Sally Dynevor (Sally Metcalfe, Coronation Street) was revealed as Soap Superstar.

See all the awards pictures in the new issue of Inside Soap magazine

More articles from The Emmerdaily:

Emmerdale Spoilers: Ryan Hawley’s final interview as Robert Sugden


Emmerdale News: Sally Dexter to take break from Faith Dingle role


Emmerdale Spoilers: Robron on the Run! Actor Danny Miller interviewed