Emmerdale News: The British Soap Awards 2018 has revealed the longlist nominations in three of its four public voted categories with voting now open for fans to support their favourite cast members and soap.

Emmerdale News: British Soap Awards Longlist Voting Open

This year’s longlist nominations for the British Soap Awards Best Actor and Best Actress categories have 15 of your favourite soap stars vying for your votes. As well as Emmerdale being in the running for Best Soap, a title it has won for the past two years, three of the shows’ actors and actresses have also been highlighted as potential award winners.

For Best Actor, Ryan Hawley, who plays Robert Sugden and one half of soap favourites Robron, has received a nomination following his TV Choice and TRIC Award wins. He is joined by Jeff Hordley, who plays Cain Dingle and is part of another of the shows ‘super couples’ Coira, and Michael Parr, who plays Ross Barton, who character has recently suffered an acid attack.

Best Actress sees Emma Atkins, who plays Charity Dingle and is currently grabbing fans attention with a new storyline as well as the new pairing Vanity. She is joined by Lucy Pargeter, who plays Chas Dingle, and Natalie J Robb, who plays Moira Barton and is the other half of Coira.

Both the Best Actor and Best Actress awards were won by Emmerdale stars in 2017 as John Middleton and Charlotte Bellamy were the winners, as Emmerdale collected its biggest ever haul of trophies.

The full list of longlist nominees are:

Best ActorEmmerdale News: British Soap Awards Longlist Voting Open

Jack P Shepherd (David Platt, Coronation Street)

Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan, Coronation Street)

Shayne Ward (Aidan Connor, Coronation Street)

Owen Brenman (Heston Carter, Doctors)

Matthew Chambers (Daniel Granger, Doctors)

Ashley Rice (Sid Vere, Doctors)

Richard Blackwood (Vincent Hubbard, EastEnders)

Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders)

Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell, EastEnders)

Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden, Emmerdale)

Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale)

Michael Parr (Ross Barton, Emmerdale)

Gary Lucy (Luke Morgan, Hollyoaks)

Richard Linnell (Alfie Nightingale, Hollyoaks)

Theo Graham (Hunter McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Best Actress

Lucy Fallon (Bethany Platt, Coronation Street)

Bhavna Limbachia (Rana Nazir, Coronation Street)

Catherine Tyldesley (Eva Price, Coronation Street)

Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Zara Carmichael, Doctors)

Bharti Patel (Ruhma Carter, Doctors)

Jan Pearson (Karen Hollins, Doctors)

Letitia Dean (Sharon Mitchell, EastEnders)

Diane Parish (Denise Fox, EastEnders)

Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler, EastEnders)

Emma Atkins (Charity Dingle, Emmerdale)

Natalie J Robb (Moira Dingle, Emmerdale)

Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale)

Anna Passey (Sienna Blake, Hollyoaks)

Amy Conachan (Courtney Campbell, Hollyoaks)

Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik, Hollyoaks)

Best Soap

Coronation Street






This first round stage of voting will close at 5pm on Tuesday, April 24. Second round voting – when the shortlists are revealed – will open at 10am on Tuesday, May 1 and close at 9pm on Friday, May 25.

During the second stage of voting, the Best Actor and Best Actress categories will contain five choices. The Best Soap category remains at five choices for both stages of the voting.

The second round of voting will also feature an exciting new category for fans to vote for – Greatest Moment with each soap will put forward a memory from the past 20 years for the fans to choice their favourite.

The awards’ other categories – including the likes of Best Storyline, Best Newcomer and Best Young Performance – will be determined by a panel of judges.

The British Soap Awards will air on ITV in June and fans need to keep an eye out for the chance to get tickets to the live event. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here