Emmerdale Review: Guest blogger The Woolie Weekly is back with a run down of the best and worst happenings in the past month in our monthly Emmerdale review. Here’s what they had to say about all the goings-on in the Dales this August…

Emmerdale Review: August 2018's best (and worst) bits
Tues 7 Aug 2018: Whilst tramping through the trees, a rattled Angelica, Carl, April, Heath, Cathy and Arthur hear strange noises in the distance and decide to investigate.

As summer ends and we head into Autumn, it looks like everything is coming together for another season of high drama in Emmerdale. With Lachlan White’s deadly deeds close to discovery and Sarah Sugden’s transplant facing set-backs, August was a month of ramping up the tension.

Lachlan (Thomas Atkinson) seems to have a habit of going on his holidays just when things are getting interesting, but there was a close call this month when the kids of the village decided to take a trip deep into the woods. With the little ‘uns providing lots of fun and the child stars getting all the best lines, they were a good contrast to the horror of Rebecca White (Emily Head) in the cabin. The kids had a close call, but Rebecca’s escape attempt was high adrenaline viewing, even if she did fail and her fate has been left a mystery for now. Thankfully it seems like Lachlan’s villainous ways might be exposed soon which is good news as he can only get away with things for so long without things starting to drag!

Emmerdale Review: August 2018's best (and worst) bits
Fri 10 Aug 2018: Sarah Sugden faces a life or death operation. As the cardiologist talks through the formalities.

August’s other big storyline was the ongoing tragedy of Sarah’s heart transplant. Convinced she was a burden and had no hope of survival, Sarah (Katie Hill) told her shocked family that she wasn’t going to go ahead with the operation.

Debbie Dingle (Charley Webb) was distraught but it was Faith Dingle’s brand of reverse psychology that had Sarah changing her mind in some emotionally charged and well written scenes. This has been a good story full of believable and tear-jerking interactions between the generations. Debbie’s at her best in mother-mode and her onscreen relationship with Sarah is one of genuine charm.

Chas Dingle and Paddy Kirk’s story of continued agony was made sadder by the introduction of a guest character, Joanne, who offered them advice and support and ways to deal with their loss of Grace. Opening up the story to other characters helped lift the story away from an insular set of characters which is good when the rest of the Dingles are suffering with their own tragedies. Like Charity (Emma Atkins), who finally introduced her son Ryan (James Moore) to the clan, in the stressful lead up to her trial against Bails.

Emmerdale Review: August 2018's best (and worst) bits
Mon 27 Aug 2018: Jimmy and Nicola King joins Bernice Blackstock in trying to make Rodney stay in Emmerdale.

It wasn’t all tragedy this month though, and I’m very grateful for characters like Nicola King (Nicola Wheeler) whose dry and sarcastic humour manages to cut into all that dark and emotional stuff. Her sharp one liners and dismissive put-downs have been brilliant. This month Nicola managed to liven up a few dull episodes, even if by the end of the month she was scheming with sister Bernice (Samantha Giles) to get rid of Misty (poor Rodney!).

I’d love to see more of her and Bernice and they’re certainly more entertaining than this month’s other ‘humorous’ offerings like Bob Hope’s interview patter and Megan Macey’s cringy dress-up for Frank Clayton (Michael Praed). Even Jai and Rishi Sharma – who I love – seem to have been dumped with sitcom scripts of varying quality, which seems like a waste of their talents!

Speaking of wasting talent, Ross’s storylines have taken a sharp decline into crime and drugs and have made him incredibly unlikeable. When the acid storyline began, did anyone think our empathy would dissolve and Ross would regress to a cocky coke-head? If this is the foundation for his exit then I’m disappointed.

Emmerdale Review: August 2018's best (and worst) bits
Mon 20 Aug 2018: Matty Barton admits he’s scared to tell Abby he’s trans and Victoria Barton chuffed when he asks her to spend his birthday with him.

For me this month’s biggest hit came in the form of Emmerdale’s couples (or would be couples!). With Victoria and Matty Barton’s romance bubbling along nicely, Vic (Isabel Hodgins) had a whole host of conflicting feelings towards her best mate. All those longing looks and pining tension is right up my street.

Marlon Dingle (Mark Charnock) was his lovely self to her as on Matty’s birthday she acknowledged that she was feeling jealous and wasn’t sure why. I’m glad they haven’t rushed to get them together five minutes into his arrival and it’s easy to see why Vic is torn between being charmed and confused. I’m really enjoying seeing this play out.

Then there’s Emmerdale’s surprise new favourite couple in Pete Barton (Anthony Quinlan) and Rhona Goskirk (Zoe Henry) who have been working on communication as they navigate their future. Pete moved into Rhona’s this month and was daunted by her trust issues and how to bond with little Leo. This provided some of my favourite scenes in recent Emmerdale as Pete tried to learn Makaton. I hope there’s a long future ahead for Pete and Rhona.

Emmerdale Review: August 2018's best (and worst) bits
Thurs 23 Aug 2018 – 7pm: Lydia Hart is grateful for Sam Dingle’s support as she gets her test results.

Finally, Sam Dingle (James Hooton) and Lydia Hart (Karen Blick) decided to put their plans for a big wedding on hold as Lydia revealed that her marriage to Steve (human not cockatoo) wasn’t as perfect as she made out. I can’t think of a couple more perfect together than these two and even though I’m disappointed we won’t get a big and zany wedding anytime soon, I just love how much these two are smitten and adorable with each other!

So, with the stars of Emmerdale promising big things as we move into the colder months, join me here next month to see what’s happened in September.

For weekly highlights including the best quotes, GIFs and my favourite bits of every week on Emmerdale visit The Woolie Weekly!

Emmerdale Review: February 2018's best (and worst) bits - Visit The Woolie Weekly - Emmerdale Review
Visit The Woolie Weekly